Weather Talk For BC no matter what you ride

Spit removal

Off Topic Comments, Help, Tips and Trick

by drummermom » Sat Sep 04, 2021 8:27 am

If anyone wants to know what’s REALLY going on, check out Tim Cyr’s FB page. Open to the public. https://www.facebook.com/tim.cyr.98
drummermom

by Young » Sat Sep 04, 2021 1:41 pm

Hmmmm, seems there is something fishy going on in Squamish, and I don't mean just the salmon. I have wondered why those culverts were built; I'm not a hydrodynamics engineer but they just looked like they would not be very effective as there was nothing to actually divert the water flow into the culverts. I read that there were actual studies done for the culverts and the removal of the spit (computer modelling?) but they are not making the studies results public. A few days ago, somebody (squamish local) on the spit told me that they knew the culverts would not be very effective but proceeded with construction anyway because they had the grant money. Reading the facebook posting in Drummermoms provided link, raises the question for me; were the culverts built merely as a make work project for the building contractors? The old adage;
" just follow the money", comes to mind. I do not believe everything I hear and read but hmmm, seems fishy.
Young

by raquo » Tue Sep 07, 2021 10:04 pm

I mean it's pretty clear what their game is. Removing the lowest 300m of the spit is the least effective thing you could do to increase water flow into the eastuary, yet this is what they chose to do. Putting culverts above low tide mark was the least effective thing they could do before that, so that's what they did then. Who cares when the ultimate goal is to spend money that isn't yours. Doing it ineffectively only gives reason to ask for more money in the next year. There are billions of public dollars available for such things in various environmental funds.